Pre-school is part of the national education system under the Education Act, 1996. The aim of pre-school education is to provide a firm foundation for formal education. Pre-schools are run by government agencies, non governmental organisations (NGO's) as well as private institutions. The major government agencies that are responsible for pre-school education are the Ministry of Education, the Ministry of Rural Development, and the Ministry of National Unity and community Development. Children enroll between the ages of 4 and 6.

All pre-schools have to abide by the curriculum guidelines set by the Ministry of Education. The curriculum enables pre-school children to acquire sufficient basic communication, social and other positive skills in preparation for primary schooling.